A walk in the park

Well it kind of feels like I have been sick forever.

I have been forcing myself to rest in my down time, to give my body the best chance to fight off this nasty lurgy.

20120909-221539.jpg

Ok, so I really haven’t had to force myself too much… Being a mum of three kids… and working full time is hard enough as it is… But combined with this flu – i have pretty much been knocked flat on my back.

But I am finally starting to turn the corner.

Today, for the first time in a long time, I actually felt like getting active again.

Living in Cairns we are constantly surrounded by beauty and we are spoilt with places to go and be active together as a family.

So of course, I have really been missing getting out amongst the natural beauty of the place.

And the kids have been missing it too – the fights were starting to drive me insane – in fact our home was starting to become a little too much like lord of the flies for my liking. It was kind of touch and go and I was worried that at any moment I was going to hear the sound of the conch shell and find them whittling spears, chanting “Kill the Pig”.

So today, on a spur of the moment, I yelled out, “Who wants to go for a walk down to the park?”

The three of them echoed back in unison “Me!”

So we headed down to the park, and it wasn’t until I was halfway there that I realised I was in bike pants and tshirt with no bra.

Also my legs were only shaved from my ankles to just beneath my knees (thats what happens when you are married and wear trousers to work) so I kind of looked weird and gross.

But the gentle breeze was lovely and the park was relatively deserted. So I decided not to worry about what people thought about my attire and just relax.

20120909-220235.jpg

The kids burned off heaps of energy riding their scooters around the lake, while I took in as much beauty as I possibly could.

20120909-220316.jpg

20120909-220307.jpg

I relaxed by the water and watched the ducks.

20120909-220633.jpg

20120909-220646.jpg

I sat and enjoyed the peace and quiet, interrupted only by the noise of my kids riding their scooters around the lake.

20120909-221016.jpg

It was simple, but it felt magical.

After being cooped up for so long, it was a Sunday afternoon to remember.

20120909-220602.jpg

Linking up with Fi from My Mummy Daze for Windows of Happiness and Kate Says Stuff for Thankful Thursday. Make sure you pop round and see that’s making Kate, Fi and our other pals happy today.

Windows of Happiness

Thankful Thursday

3 comments on “A walk in the park

  1. That sounds perfect! I’m glad you’re feeling better and could enjoy the great outdoors! Our kids love going to the park too. Thanks for linking up 🙂 Fi x

I would love to hear your comments! Please leave a reply : )

