Mossman Gorge

Do you have a favourite place?

A place that makes you feel at peace – that makes you feel grateful to be alive?

A few months ago, our family re-discovered Mossman Gorge.  My husband and I both hadn’t been there for over 10 years, so decided to take the niblets there to check it out.

Since then, we haven’t been able to stay away.

The water is FREEZING but leaves you with the most AMAZING relaxed happy feeling. In fact, my husband is convinced that the water at Mossman Gorge has some kind of magical spiritual healing properties because he can go from being Mr Grumpy to to Mr Laid Back Dad as soon as his body is immersed in the water.

Mossman Gorge is a popular tourist destination and can be super busy at times – so we have found arriving in the afternoon about 3 or 4 pm is the best, as most of the tourists buses have been and gone and most of the other people are starting to leave.

We stay until it is starting to get dark and often find ourselves being the only people there – just breathing in the beauty and the peaceful serenity around us.

There is also a 2-3km circuit bushwalk at the gorge that takes you through some beautiful rainforest.  We finally did this bushwalk a few weeks ago and fell even more in love than we were before.


(The artistic nature pics were taken by the amazing Miss O on a dodgy $30 Kodak Easy Share Camera. The rest were taken by me on my iPhone)

Mossman Gorge is now officially our favourite place.

It’s a place that makes us feel so blessed to live in this part of the world.

When I am there, I feel like I am a part of something so much bigger than myself.

It’s a place that I can forget about the crises that plague my everyday life.

It’s a place where I can just be.

2 comments on “Mossman Gorge

  1. Pingback: Mossman Gorge : Love All Blogs

  2. Pingback: Falling Off The Wagon | MumSpeak

I would love to hear your comments! Please leave a reply : )

