Thankful Thursday: Only Seems Like Yesterday

On Saturday, Mr S (my first little man), will turn 6 years old.  How did this happen?  It only seems like yesterday that I found out that I was pregnant.  We were pretty convinced we would be having a sister for Miss O.

It only seems like yesterday that we were shocked, scared and a little bit delighted to find out that we were going to be having a boy.  ( I am so glad I found out before hand so I had a couple of months to adjust!).

It only seems like yesterday that we booked the cesarean in.

It only seems like yesterday that I went into labour early and drove myself to the hospital in the middle of the night.  (Yes, you read that right. And believe me, 30 minutes is a long time to be behind the wheel when you are having contractions – but gripping the steering wheel did help a little).

It only seems like yesterday that the doctor on duty unsuccessfully tried to convince me for an hour and a half that I could still go for a natural birth despite my previous ceasarean. [Despite the fact there was no way he was going to fit!]

It only seems like yesterday that I waited in hospital for what seemed like half the night so they could get the staff in to perform the ceasarean.

It only seems like yesterday  that they finally did the epidural and wheeled me into surgery.

It only seems like yesterday that they opened me up and pulled out my screaming, red, squishy nosed, frog mouthed man.  [It really was traumatic to see because Miss O looked like an angel when she was born. Apparently his nosed was squished because he had been pressed up against my pelvis so long. Or something like that.]

It only seems like yesterday that I held him close to my breast and fed him for the first time.

It only seems like yesterday that I cried alone in the hospital after they freaked me out by pointing out his stryder, his long, thin stature, his heart murmur, the little hernia on his tummy, his lower than normal oxygen levels, the unusual creases on his hands, and asked me if there was any history of genetic disorders in the family.

It only seems like yesterday we got the all clear and I was able to bring him home from the hospital.

It only seems like yesterday I realised his nose was not so squished any more.

It only seems like yesterday that at 6 months we realised there was something not quite right with the way he was developing.

It only seems like yesterday that we took him to the pediatrician, scared  of what we would find out.

It only seems like yesterday Mr S turned One.

It only seems like yesterday that Mr S became a big brother to Mr J.

It only seems like yesterday that we discovered Mr S has hypertonia (low muscle tone), motor planning deficits, as well as other undiagnosed problems.

It only seems like yesterday that we embarked on months of fortnightly physiotherapy, speech therapy, occupational therapy.

It only seems like yesterday that Mr S turned 2.

It only seems like yesterday that Mr S was fully toilet trained and began to sleep through the night, with no accidents.

It seems like only yesterday that Mr S started attending weekly ‘Early Intervention’ lessons.

It seemed like only yesterday we were told that Mr S needed to be tested for Autism Spectrum Disorder.

It only seems like yesterday that the results of the ‘Autism Test’ , said that he was NOT on the Autism Spectrum, despite the ‘markers’ apparent in his day to day behaviour and despite what his early intervention teachers said.

It only seems like yesterday, that the pediatrician scratched her head, and said she just doesn’t know what is wrong with Mr S, and lightheartedly referred to it as “Mr S Syndrome”.

It only seems like yesterday that Mr S started Prep and learned how to put on his socks.

It only seems like yesterday  that Mr S brought home his first report card and I was so proud because it had C’s for every subject.

It only seems like yesterday that Mr S started year 1.

It only seems like yesterday that Mr S finally stopped screaming blue murder, and fighting me to the death, each time he has a shower.

It only seems like yesterday that Mr S learned how to hold the face washer over his eyes, so that I can wash his hair and wash out the soap without him screaming and fighting.

It only seems like yesterday that Mr S read his first beginner reader to me.

Today, I look at my boy and I am thankful.  

6 years have gone by in a flash but what a journey this 6 years has been. It has been filled with laughter and happiness and it has been fraught with worry and tears.

I look at my beautiful boy.

I have watched him grow.

I have watched him overcome.

Determined. 
He has learned that “I can’t” is not accepted in this house.

He has learned that “I will try” is better.

He has learned that trying again and again until you succeed is awesome.

Each day he works hard to acheive, despite the limitations of his body. Despite the fact that his muscles fatigue quickly.  Despite the fact that his flapping distracts him when he tries to concentrate.  Depsite the fact that he can’t stay still.

I look at my beautiful boy.

Sensitive and Loving.  Generous and Giving.  Sharing. Understanding.

And just dash of cheekiness with his sense of humour.

Of couse, we still have meltdowns.  There are still days it all goes wrong.

But the good days are out-weighing the bad days.

He throws his arms around me every day and says “I love you Mum”.

And I am thankful, that I have this beautiful, precious soul, in my life.

Linking Up with Kate Says Stuff for Thankful Thursday. Pop over and visit Kate to see why others are thankful.

5 comments on “Thankful Thursday: Only Seems Like Yesterday

  1. Pingback: A Fantastic Day | MumSpeak

  2. Oh gosh, how beautiful. I am all kinds of teary reading this. What a wonderful reflection on the last 6 years, the ups and downs, and of course, the gorgeousness of your beautiful boy.

  3. Pingback: Love All Blogs » the altruistic blogging network and showcasing site that welcomes all bloggers » Seems Like Yesterday

I would love to hear your comments! Please leave a reply : )

